Jesuit-Ursuline Ranger Band Earns Superior Rating at State Championship

The Jesuit-Ursuline Ranger Band (JURB) was awarded a “Superior” division 1 rating at the 2015 Texas Private School Music Educators Association (TPSMEA) State Marching Contest, hosted by Legacy Christian Academy in Frisco.

The band’s award-winning show, Back to the Future!, features performances from the movie franchise of the same name. The state contest marked a culmination of a great season for the JURB, which fine-tuned its show throughout the fall.

With the marching season nearing its conclusion, select members of the JURB will begin turning their attention toward the qualifying process of the TPSMEA All-State Band, which will take place in January under the direction of David Wilson, who is director of bands at the University of Mississippi.

Click HERE to view the 75-member band’s performance at state’s.

Jesuit Dallas to Host Wounded Warrior Amputees vs. NFL Alumni

On Thursday, May 21 from 6-9 p.m., Jesuit Dallas is hosting the Wounded Warrior Amputees vs. Dallas Cowboys & NFL Alumni flag football game featuring over 30 former stars of the NFL gridiron. Tickets are $10 for adults, while all children and students will enjoy free admission. Tickets may be purchased online at, or at Postell Stadium on the evening of the game.

The Wounded Warrior Amputee Football Team is composed of men and women who lost a limb while serving the United States armed forces in Iraq or Afghanistan. The WWAFY record versus the NFL Alumni stands at an unblemished 10-0, having most recently defeated the NFL, 58-21, in front of 10,000 fans prior to Super Bowl XLIX.

All proceeds will benefit the WWAFT and disabled Veteran initiatives in Texas. The charities of choice for this game include Heroes on the Water, Gold Star Mothers of Texas and Paralyzed Veterans of America (PVA).

Led by NFL Hall of Famer Roger Staubach and Chad Hennings, over 30 NFL alumni have expressed a commitment to attend. Additional NFL alumni set to appear include: Charles Haley, Ed “Too Tall” Jones, Tim Brown, Daryl Johnston, Drew Pearson, Terry Glenn, Babe Laufenberg, Tony Tolbert, Charlie Waters, Cliff Harris, DD Lewis, Dave Edwards, Larry Brown, Dale Hellestrae, Leon Lett, Nate Newton, Greg Ellis, Jon Kitna, Steve Folsom, Cory Procter, Tom Rafferty, Phil Pozderac, Robert Williams, Tony Liscio, Craig James, Lyle Blackwood, Donny Anderson, Dave Vobora, Alex Albright, Sean Ryan, Cary Brabham, Scott McGarrahan, Gary Hammond, George Teague, Kevin Smith, Tony Banks, as well as additional unannounced guests.

There will be fan meet-and-greet opportunities during the evening, while raffle prizes will include 2015 Dallas Cowboys game tickets, PGA Tour tickets, and game tickets to the Rangers, Mavericks and Stars.