Jesuit Students Earn National Merit Honors

Sixty-Two Jesuit Dallas Students Awarded Academic Honors from the College Board and National Merit Corporation

In recognition of outstanding academic achievement, sixty-two current seniors and juniors earned plaudits from the College Board National Recognition Programs and the National Merit Corporation. Students earned the prestigious honors based on the combination of a high grade-point average, performance on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, and high scores across multiple AP exams.

“Jesuit continues to be proud of the accomplishments our students earn in the various facets of their lives, whether it be academic, extracurricular, or personal,” offered Dr. Ben Kirby, Assistant Principal of Curriculum and Academic Support. “Earning recognition for being among the top in the country is a testament to the young man, his family, and everyone with whom he comes into contact. It is exciting to have these young men walking the hallways and being an inspiration to their peers.”

To earn consideration as National Merit Semifinalists, three Jesuit seniors finished in the top 1% out of over 1.5 million test-takers on the PSAT during the 2020-21 academic year. Seventeen students finished among the top 5% of all test-takers to earn accolades as National Merit Commended Scholars. Additionally, 42 Jesuit Dallas students received honors through various College Board Recognition Programs, including the National African American Scholars Program, National Hispanic Scholars Program, and National Indigenous Scholars Program. 

Students who have earned national recognition for their exceptional work in the classroom will be honored in front of their peers during Jesuit’s annual Scholar Recognition Ceremony in October. The event will be streamed live.

National Merit Semifinalists

John Archer
Nicholas Evanich
Derek Zhang

National Merit Commended Scholars

Jetson Beck
Owen Brown
Mattia Campioli
Po-Hsu Chen
Conlan Diamond
Lucas Hernandez

  Aarin Jain
Henry Limber
Aidan Magner
William Mansour
Jack McClure
Jacob Neiman
    Mason Nothaft
Deo Shaji
Jack Sharp
Carter Trupiano
Nathaniel Walker


College Board National Program Scholars

Rodrigo Aldrey
Joseph Amador
Aldo Avila
Gabriel Blanco
Nicholas Boling
Mattia Campioli
Santiago Diaz
Alexander Dondis
John Dryden
Sebastian Esquivel
Lucas Ferguson
Nicolas Ferraez
Cole Frutos
John Garza
  Angel Guevara
Lorenzo Hidalgo
Alexander Johnson
Alejandro Lizardi
Diego Lopez
Mario Lopez
Francisco Lorenzo
Lorenzo Martinez
Quinn Mashburn
Julian McDoniel
John Moberly
Nicolas Moreno
Adair Oropeza
Alejandro Ortiz
    Samuel Parker
Colten Phillips
John Pott
Andrew Reutinger
Jorge Rios
Reginaldo Sandoval
Andres Santos
Luke Scott
Roberto Tello
Diego Torrealba
Antonio Vela
Mark Villalba
Cal Whitley
Truett Whitley