Academics

Academic Immersion

Washington D.C.

Locations
Washington, D.C.

On Campus Dates
TBD

Trip Dates
TBD

Description
This three week accelerated course introduces students to the structure and function of the American government system along with the nature of American politics. Students will also travel to Washington, D.C. as members of the Close Up flagship High School Program. Visit www.closeup.org to become more familiar with this one-of-a-kind opportunity for students to experience their government in action. Students receive their Government credit upon completion.

Who can attend?
Rising seniors

How much does it cost?
$2,500 (airfare and hotel included). Financial Aid available.

Deadlines:
TBD.

Get more info!
Program Contact:
Katie Segal, ksegal@jesuitcp.org

Marine Biology

Description
This course offers students the opportunity to learn about marine ecosystems through an in-class portion in Dallas and a diving adventure in Virgin Gorda, BVI. Students will experience coral reef building, turtle tagging, night snorkeling, and more. Students will receive a ½ credit of senior science elective upon completion.

Who can attend?
Rising juniors and seniors

Dates: TBD

Program Contacts:
Madison Mathews (mmathews@jesuitcp.org), Todd Gruninger (tgruninger@jesuitcp.org), or Ben Kirby (bkirby@jesuitcp.org)

History of Rome

DescriptionThis 3-week course seeks to explore the basic historical narrative of Rome’s rise and fall from pre-Roman hamlet, through Republican and Imperial rule to the age of Constantine.  The course will then conclude with an Italian adventure, as students fly to Rome, literally touch the history they have been studying, and experience the “eternal city” in all its historical richness.

Locations
Dallas Jesuit and Italy (Rome, Pompeii, and Herculaneum, and possibly Milan
On Campus Date: June 7-18 if travel is permitted; June 7-25 if travel is not permitted

Trip Date: TBD

Who can attend?
Rising juniors and seniors

How much does it cost?

Dependent on enrollment. $3800-4200

Deadlines:

Students should register for the summer school course (in 2021) if interested in the class and potential for travel.

Program Contact:

Casey Profitt, cprofitt@jesuitcp.org

Lisa Druebert, ldruebert@jesuitcp.org