Skip To Main Content
Jesuit Dallas Students Earn Accolades from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation

On Wednesday, Sept. 13, officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) announced the names of 30 students from the Jesuit Dallas Class of 2024 who have earned recognition for exemplary performance on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during the 2022-23 academic year. Jesuit seniors Andrew Clay, Jackson Farragut, and Charles Fent were named National Merit Semifinalists and will have the opportunity to earn one of 7,000 scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered in the spring.

According to the College Board, last year more than 3.5 million high school juniors took the PSAT, and to earn National Merit Commendation status, 27 Jesuit students scored in the top 2-3% of all test-takers. Jesuit’s three National Merit Semifinalists finished in the top 1%.

Jesuit offers a rigorous academic program, and over 20% of each senior class in the last decade has been recognized by the NMSC® or the College Board AP Scholar Program for exceptional academic ability. The names of this year’s honorees and their attending middle school are listed below.

2022-23 National Merit Semifinalists

Andrew Clay (St. Patrick Catholic School)
Jackson Farragut (Cistercian Preparatory School)
Charles Fent (St. Rita Catholic School)

2022-23 National Merit Commended Scholars

Gustavo Aldrey (Prince of Peace Catholic School)
Aiden Brodsky (Richardson North Junior High)
Nicholas Christon (St. Patrick Catholic School)
John Cole (Townview TAG)
Grant Cooper (St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School)
James Corrigan (Cistercian Preparatory School)
Caden Cutchall (St. Rita Catholic School)
Christopher Ellis (Cistercian Preparatory School)
Daniel Garcia (Christ The King Catholic School)
Andrew Gerst (St. Patrick Catholic School)
Brandon Gibson (Prince of Peace Catholic School)
Andrew Lamberson (St. John's Episcopal School)
Kyle Ma (Windermere Preparatory School)
Reece Mattorano (St. Rita Catholic School)
Nicholas Mejia (St. Monica Catholic School)
Quinton Moats (Scarsdale High School)
Jacob Morales (Prince of Peace Catholic School)
Beckett Mundorff (Pioneer Heritage Middle School)
Arya Panda (Coppell Middle School West)
Liam Placke (Regis Jesuit High School)
Nathan Rodriguez (George Bannerman Dealey Montessori)
Henry Rutnam (Jasper High School)
David Schroeder (Good Shepherd Episcopal School)
Nicolai Valenta (Brophy College Preparatory)
Charles Winikates (St. Rita Catholic School)
Dawson Zavala (Holy Trinity Catholic School)