Skip To Main Content
Academic Recognition Ceremony Celebrates Classroom Excellence

Over 100 Jesuit Dallas students were honored in front of their peers, faculty, and staff at the 2023 Academic Recognition Ceremony in Hughes Hall on Thursday, Sept. 28, for exemplary performances on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) and superlative results on AP exams during the 2022-23 academic year.

“At Jesuit, we talk about the Profile of the Graduate often, hoping that our graduates are appreciative of the processes required to become men who are loving, committed to social justice, religious, open to growth, physically fit, and intellectually competent,” shared Ben Kirby, Assistant Principal of Curriculum and Academic Support. “The awards today are honoring those students who, by the aptitude displayed on the PSAT and AP tests last year, demonstrated a commitment to a high pursuit for academic excellence. It is truly an honor to recognize these young men.”

Each year, The College Board recognizes students who have demonstrated excellence at the university level through their achievement on the AP exams. Last year, a record 849 AP tests were administered at Jesuit Dallas and over 79% of our students earned passing scores, which is over 30% higher than the state and national average.

Sixty-seven students from the Jesuit Dallas Classes of 2023 and 2024 achieved prominence as AP Scholars, including 34 students from this year’s senior class. Among those recognized were 10 students from the Class of 2024 who earned AP Scholar with Distinction, the highest level of honor bestowed. To achieve that recognition, students achieved a score of three or higher on five or more AP exams. The prestigious group, which also included 30 students from the Class of 2023, posted an average exam score of 4.1. In addition, 12 students earned citations for excellence through the College Board’s National Hispanic and National Indigenous Persons Recognition Program.

Said Principal Tom Garrison ’92, “The excitement that I have in recognizing these guys is beyond words. One of my favorite times at Jesuit is hosting the convocation ceremonies in the spring because we get to show off the achievements of the guys to their peers in a formal way. Today, however, is a time for us to let them know how proud we are of them, their efforts, and their achievements.”

Thursday’s on-campus ceremony also included a celebration of the 30 Jesuit Dallas students recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) as National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Scholars, which was announced earlier this month. Jesuit’s semifinalists will have the opportunity to earn one of 7,000 scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered in the spring.

AP Scholar
Gustavo Aldrey
Jack Bradshaw
Benjamin Brainard
Henry Bryarly
Andrew Clay
Grant Cooper
James Corrigan
Ben Eppich
Jackson Farragut
Henry Hambleton
Dolen Hedrick
Mario Jaar
Logan Kelly
Casimir Kenjarski
Omar Lara
Allen Lesher
Peter Loh
Samuel Loh
Neel Manne
Daniel Mansur
Reece Mattorano
Keagan McDuffie
Nico Mejia
Patrick Murphy
Diego Ortiz-Segura
Conor Parro
Benjamin Petroff
Liam Placke
Nathan Salvia
Jackson Schutze
Chris Simington
Garrett Spears
Connor Sughrue
Mark Trottier

AP Scholar with Honor
Francisco Almaguer
Aiden Brodsky
Alonso Carrillo
Wil Carroll
Nicholas Christon
Jack Cole
Caden Cutchall
Charlie Fent
Jackson Fleischer
Brandon Gibson
Drew Lamberson
Daniel Lucido
Quinton Moats
Jacob Morales
Anthony Nguyen
Jason Ogbolu
Michael Yerrington
Dawson Zavala

AP Scholar with Distinction
Chris Argenbright
Mateo Bryce
Anton Dimafelix
Daniel Garcia
Andrew Gerst
Kyle Ma
Arya Panda
Henry Rutnam
Luke Santoni
Nicolai Valenta

College Board National Hispanic Recognition Program
Alonso Carrillo
Emilio Castillo
Luke Deshotels
Leo Hernandez
Mario Jaar
Ethan Jimenez
Morgan McMillen
Fabian Mares
Benjamin Petroff
Jace Petrutsas
Max Sabogal

College Board National Indigenous Persons Recognition Program
Logan Thompson